Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
The American Physical Society is now providing in-library access free of charge to all of their technical journals, including: Physical Review Letters (PRL) (brief important papers, all topics in physics) Physical Review A (atomic, molecular, and optical physics) Physical Review B (condensed... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
Full Text Available.
This classroom-tested online resource is designed specifically for young learners. Students can choose to Play, Explore, Read, or Draw. Your students will find engaging and developmentally-appropriate activities including an interactive atlas, learning games, engaging audio and video, and effective... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Directory of Open Access Books is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books with an Open Access license (free to download and share) and meet academic standards. The directory contains works from 33 publishers and is growing. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online School Edition offers teachers and students access to three complete encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia that ensure consistency with classroom-topics and age-appropriate language. Teacher and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
For students and adults alike, the New World Encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 full-text articles covering an array of topics. The database contains images, brief biographies and information in a variety of subject areas. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; working conditions. In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States compiled from both government and non-government sources. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
RealQuest
Property information search engine with access to 97% of all U.S. real estate transactions. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This powerful yet easy-to-use online tool lets students analyze countries at a glance. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM