Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Provides in-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine, offering full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, reports, newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Current reference material, full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from authoritative medical sources. Descriptions and links to Web sites. Medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, directory of health organizations, and guides to prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, and alternative... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Lexi-PALS Drug Guide is a database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides vital education on medications for patients. The approach for each pamphlet is to present each medication in an easy to follow and understand question-and-answer format. The database consists of over... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Birmingham's guide to local diabetes resources. The website is sponsored and developed by the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation for the Cities for Life grant, as well as the University of Alabama and the University of Alabama at Birmingham. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites (from site). learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM