Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
A database geared toward the academic researcher, Academic Search Premier contains full text and images from over 4,700 journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, theology, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The American Physical Society is now providing in-library access free of charge to all of their technical journals, including: Physical Review Letters (PRL) (brief important papers, all topics in physics) Physical Review A (atomic, molecular, and optical physics) Physical Review B (condensed... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
Full Text Available.
The Birmingham Black Barons, one of the most successful baseball teams in the Negro Leagues, played from the 1920s until the 1950s. The team played their home games at Rickwood Field. This database is a keyword index to articles that appeared in local newspapers including the Birmingham News... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The current Birmingham News delivered by al.com learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Full text articles from The Birmingham News (4/27/1993-Current) . learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Management issues, economic indicators, business theories and practices, activities of companies and industries worldwide. Full-text articles, images, and citations from academic journals and trade magazines. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, histories, chronologies. Detailed news and information on companies and industry. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A database of resources for the modern businessman, Business Source Premier contains full-text articles from more than 1,000 newspapers and magazines on business topics, management, economics, finance, banking, and accounting. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. There are currently 664 historical newspapers available to browse and view in this site and over 140,000 newspapers listed in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Browse and search for journal and magazine titles that are available in the BPL collection of electronic databases. Use this tool to identify which database has the desired magazine and the coverage dates that are included in the database. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database contains full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic and minority press. The database consists of items from 280+ sources, including local and regional press like: Deep South Jewish Voice: Birmingham, AL; Speakin' Out the News: Huntsville, AL; Atlanta... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Spanish magazine articles. Searchable in Spanish. Some articles in English. Current events, business, health, technology, culture, etc. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The database provides full text to 35 national & international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The (London) Times. As well, the database contains selected full text for more than 375 regional U.S. newspapers (including local press The... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Primarily access to worldcat. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
School topics and current events from articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents. Research ideas, activities, biographies, photo essays, country facts, almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, and current events. Middle and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Searches all Standard & Poor's paper products. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM