Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Provides in-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine, offering full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, reports, newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The American Physical Society is now providing in-library access free of charge to all of their technical journals, including: Physical Review Letters (PRL) (brief important papers, all topics in physics) Physical Review A (atomic, molecular, and optical physics) Physical Review B (condensed... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
Full Text Available.
Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Directory of Open Access Books is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books with an Open Access license (free to download and share) and meet academic standards. The directory contains works from 33 publishers and is growing. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on earth - text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more - all freely available on-line. But EOL is much more than 1.9 million taxon pages. Explore EOL to find information for a paper, poster or class project, make... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Current reference material, full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from authoritative medical sources. Descriptions and links to Web sites. Medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, directory of health organizations, and guides to prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, and alternative... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM