Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Explore career interests, plan for college or the workforce, or test your knowledge via interactive quizzes, standardized test questions, GED sample tests, and more with Career Library from EBSCO. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
CareerCruising features career guidance information, schools database, financial aid information, portofolio tool, employment resources and other assessments. This resource is applicable to middle school students exploring future career options as well as potential college students and job seekers.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,050 of today's most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. This database now contains hundreds of new, in-depth job and industry descriptions; as well as a... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; working conditions. In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Tuition Funding Sources is a private website designed to help students find scholarships, college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
For work-related information in a variety of fields, EBSCOhost Web's special vocational and career collection contains articles in over 360 trade and industry related periodicals. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM