Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This US Congressional resource provides a searchable database of all members of Congress from 1774 to present. The Biographical Directory of the United States Congress includes the position, party, year, and state of each member of congress. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Brands and Their Companies
Consumer information on company brands, U.S. company imports, and products marketed by competing companies. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
The Directory of Open Access Books is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books with an Open Access license (free to download and share) and meet academic standards. The directory contains works from 33 publishers and is growing. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides subscribers with access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a searchable database of the entire universe of over 92,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking... learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central) - In Library Use Only.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online allows users to quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 8,300 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. This unique online database — the only one devoted exclusively to the needs of... learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central) - In Library Use Only.
Gale Directory Library is an online searchable ebook platform that includes Gale Directory of Early Stage Investment, 1st Edition. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A guide to more than 4,500 angel investment groups, business incubators, venture capital firms, associations, and resources needed to help entrepreneurs start or grow their business. -site learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Philanthropy In/Sight is an interactive mapping tool that combines the Foundation Center's rich data on grantmakers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy. Choosing from a wide range of customization options, you can quickly create maps that reveal patterns... learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central) - In Library Use Only.
RealQuest
Property information search engine with access to 97% of all U.S. real estate transactions. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
Directory of U.S. businesses, company leaders, parent companies, and subsidiaries. Updated monthly. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Worldwide library catalog identifies libraries that own items searched. Comprehensive reference service available only though libraries. Databases, links to the World Wide Web, over 10 million online full-text articles, full-image articles from over 4,000 electronic journals. Wide range of subject... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM