Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
A database geared toward the academic researcher, Academic Search Premier contains full text and images from over 4,700 journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, theology, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online School Edition offers teachers and students access to three complete encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia that ensure consistency with classroom-topics and age-appropriate language. Teacher and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of eBook reference content in a database format, allowing libraries to choose exactly which titles to make available to their patrons. The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Offers young students an easy-to-use and graphically appealing search experience. The Basic Search screen highlights topics such as art, geography, math, science, and social studies, and includes the ability to search for images and videos from the toolbar. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Primarily access to worldcat. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A search engine featuring cross-searching capabilities of Gale Cengage content. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
School topics and current events from articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents. Research ideas, activities, biographies, photo essays, country facts, almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, and current events. Middle and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides middle and high school students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining information tailored for their specific needs. Users can pre-select which types of content sources to search, narrow their results by topic heading and Lexile reading level, and make... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM