Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities. And, just... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This classroom-tested online resource is designed specifically for young learners. Students can choose to Play, Explore, Read, or Draw. Your students will find engaging and developmentally-appropriate activities including an interactive atlas, learning games, engaging audio and video, and effective... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online School Edition offers teachers and students access to three complete encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia that ensure consistency with classroom-topics and age-appropriate language. Teacher and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The complete text of EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals available in a searchable database, including general informational articles, taxonomic classifications, and photographs of thousands of animal species. Available through Kid's Search. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Offers young students an easy-to-use and graphically appealing search experience. The Basic Search screen highlights topics such as art, geography, math, science, and social studies, and includes the ability to search for images and videos from the toolbar. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Readthebooks.com covers K-8 grades. It contains reading lists for the Birmingham-area schools. You can find books to read by topic or reading level. The majority of the books are Acclerated Reader (AR) books. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
School topics and current events from articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents. Research ideas, activities, biographies, photo essays, country facts, almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, and current events. Middle and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
World Book’s ebook collection includes highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of curriculum areas and reading levels. World Book eBooks features World Book products like Animal Lives, Explore the Universe, and Learning Ladders learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM