Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
The current Birmingham News delivered by al.com learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Full text articles from The Birmingham News (4/27/1993-Current) . learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
This database contains full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic and minority press. The database consists of items from 280+ sources, including local and regional press like: Deep South Jewish Voice: Birmingham, AL; Speakin' Out the News: Huntsville, AL; Atlanta... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 journals. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The database provides full text to 35 national & international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The (London) Times. As well, the database contains selected full text for more than 375 regional U.S. newspapers (including local press The... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
School topics and current events from articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents. Research ideas, activities, biographies, photo essays, country facts, almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, and current events. Middle and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM