Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Learn Web and computer programming fundamentals and languages through a series of training tracks. Topics include web fundamentals, PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python and Ruby. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Skill-building and test preparation materials for standardized tests. Interactive practice exams based on official exams. Scoring and analysis of practice test responses. Basic skills, college preparatory, civil service, GED, and some specific careers. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to use computers and the Internet safely and intelligently. -site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM