Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Subject Applicable Databases
Provides a wide selection of Alabama legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Management issues, economic indicators, business theories and practices, activities of companies and industries worldwide. Full-text articles, images, and citations from academic journals and trade magazines. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, histories, chronologies. Detailed news and information on companies and industry. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. -site learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A database of resources for the modern businessman, Business Source Premier contains full-text articles from more than 1,000 newspapers and magazines on business topics, management, economics, finance, banking, and accounting. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,050 of today's most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. This database now contains hundreds of new, in-depth job and industry descriptions; as well as a... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Gale Directory Library is an online searchable ebook platform that includes Gale Directory of Early Stage Investment, 1st Edition. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A guide to more than 4,500 angel investment groups, business incubators, venture capital firms, associations, and resources needed to help entrepreneurs start or grow their business. -site learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Mergent Online is an Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Stock and mutual fund reports. Portfolio X-Ray feature allows user to create portfolio to see how investments work together. Screener feature allows user to identify stocks or funds meeting their personal criteria. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; working conditions. In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
RealQuest
Property information search engine with access to 97% of all U.S. real estate transactions. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
Directory of U.S. businesses, company leaders, parent companies, and subsidiaries. Updated monthly. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Searches all Standard & Poor's paper products. Available in the Birmingham Public Library Business, Science & Technology Department. learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central - Business Dept) - In Library Use Only.
  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM