Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases Information
Name

Ancestry Library Edition

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.
Description

Family name information, genealogy, histories, census data, military records, passenger lists, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Ancestry Library Edition is subject to ongoing updates and new content is added frequently. Ancestry Library Edition is only available from computers inside of the Birmingham Public Library.

Availability

Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.

Subjects

Genealogy
History

Audience

Middle School
High School
Adults

Tutorials

Comparison of Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com  What are the key differences between Ancestry.com and Ancestry Library Edition
Search Guide  PDF document
User Guide  PDF document

  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM