Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases Information
Name

Britannica Learning Zone

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.
Description

This classroom-tested online resource is designed specifically for young learners. Students can choose to Play, Explore, Read, or Draw. Your students will find engaging and developmentally-appropriate activities including an interactive atlas, learning games, engaging audio and video, and effective vocabulary builders. The Britannica Learning Zone teaches concepts such as geography, time, shapes, numbers, and reinforces relevant vocabulary, all in a fun and safe online environment. There is also an area where students can demonstrate their creativity and practice what they've learned.

Availability

Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.

Subjects

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Facts & Figures
For Kids

Audience

Elementary

  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM