Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Find Databases:   Listed by Name  |  Available from Home or Office  |  JCLC Accessible (ecard eligible)
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases Information

Points of View Reference Center

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.


Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.


Current Events
Global Issues
Society & Culture


Middle School
High School

Page Last Modified: 9/30/2015 9:20 AM