All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
Databases Information

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.

Health InfoNet of Alabama is a free, award-winning consumer health information service of the Alabama public and medical libraries*. It began in 1999 as a local service to Jefferson County residents, expanding to Shelby County in 2002 and the whole state in 2004.

This website is designed as a service for online users and a gateway to quality information resources. A primary focus of this site is on the collections and services of the public libraries. With 207 libraries in Alabama, you will find up-to-date health collections and highly trained staff (not to mention computers with Internet access) near you. Check out the Alabama Public Library Service for a list of libraries in the state, or call 1-855-463-6638 (toll-free).

REMINDER: Check with your doctor or other healthcare provider before acting on any health information obtained by this or any other web site or service. Only a licensed health practitioner who has a complete medical history of an individual can advise that person in health decisions. Please do not mistake the information provided by Health InfoNet of Alabama for specific health advice - these resources are for general information only.

*Note: The libraries are supported in this effort by the Alabama Public Library Service (APLS) and the Alabama Health Libraries Association (ALHeLA). The State Health Planning and Development Agency (SHPDA) and National Library of Medicine also played key roles in developing the online database of health services around the state. An advisory committee of librarians, practicing health professionals, health organization representatives and other interested parties provides guidance for the project directors in administering Health InfoNet. The Health InfoNet web site does not host any form of advertisements.


Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.


Health & Medicine


High School

Page Last Modified: 1/26/2018 1:51 PM