Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases Information
Name

Career Guidance Center
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.
Description

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,050 of today's most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. This database now contains hundreds of new, in-depth job and industry descriptions; as well as a searchable archive of articles from current and past issues of Career Opportunities News, a 16-page, bi-monthly newsletter that provides timely information about colleges and the job market. Organized by industry, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center covers careers and career resources, as well as career preparation information, including scholarships, academic programs, non-academic programs, web resources, and an employability skills checklist. An extensive "Four Steps to a New Job" section provides invaluable guidance on everything from choosing a career to finding and applying for a job to learning about employment benefits and laws.

Availability

Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.

Subjects

Business
Careers

Audience

High School
Adults

Tutorials

Product Demonstration  Flash required

  
Page Last Modified: 7/17/2014 8:36 AM