Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Find Databases:   Listed by Name  |  Available from Home or Office  |  JCLC Accessible (ecard eligible)
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases Information

English Dictionary (Oxford)
Oxford English Dictionary

Try this database out with BPL QuickLinks.

The Oxford English Dictionary Online provides unparalleled access to the wealth of material contained in the acclaimed 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions. Online publication also enables the "treasure house" of the English language to move with the times as never before possible. For the first time since it was completed in 1928, the OED is being completely revised - every word and every sense is being fully updated to take account of the latest changes in language and scholarship. New material (at least 1,000 new and revised words) will be released quarterly, offering online subscribers a unique opportunity to chart the course of the English language.


Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


High School


Guided Tour  

Page Last Modified: 9/30/2015 9:20 AM