Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases By Audience: Middle School
A   B   C   E   F   G   H   I   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S   T   V   W  
A
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
African-American History Online covers topics such as affirmative action, Africa, black nationalism, civil rights, emancipation, free blacks, the Harlem Renaissance, migrations, racial violence and hate crimes, religion, slave living conditions, slave liberation strategies, social work and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
AlabamaMosaic (Alabama's Digitization Project) is a work in progress. A number of collections are available for browsing and searching. More collections will be added in the near future. The purpose of AlabamaMosaic is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums,... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Family name information, genealogy, histories, census data, military records, passenger lists, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Ancestry Library Edition is subject to ongoing updates and new content is added frequently. Ancestry Library Edition is only available from computers inside... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A project of the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at The Newberry Library in Chicago, the Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool in electronic form. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
B
Learn words and phrases in several languages. Site includes facts about the languages and the societies that speak them. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities. And, just... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This US Congressional resource provides a searchable database of all members of Congress from 1774 to present. The Biographical Directory of the United States Congress includes the position, party, year, and state of each member of congress. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Barons, one of the most successful baseball teams in the Negro Leagues, played from the 1920s until the 1950s. The team played their home games at Rickwood Field. This database is a keyword index to articles that appeared in local newspapers including the Birmingham News... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Don't let reading quizzes get you down, study up with BookTest Online. With BookTest Online you can test your knowledge and develop memory recall for your favorite books. Click on "Book Search" to get started. Come to any BPL library to get free access to this great resource. learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
Britannica Online School Edition offers teachers and students access to three complete encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia that ensure consistency with classroom-topics and age-appropriate language. Teacher and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
C
CareerCruising features career guidance information, schools database, financial aid information, portofolio tool, employment resources and other assessments. This resource is applicable to middle school students exploring future career options as well as potential college students and job seekers.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn Web and computer programming fundamentals and languages through a series of training tracks. Topics include web fundamentals, PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python and Ruby. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
E
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Britannica Online School Edition offers teachers and students access to three complete encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia that ensure consistency with classroom-topics and age-appropriate language. Teacher and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed through a partnership of the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The complete text of EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals available in a searchable database, including general informational articles, taxonomic classifications, and photographs of thousands of animal species. Available through Kid's Search. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on earth - text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more - all freely available on-line. But EOL is much more than 1.9 million taxon pages. Explore EOL to find information for a paper, poster or class project, make... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
F
Freegal Music Service include millions of songs from ten thousand labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. The Freegal Music Service files are DRM-FREE, Mp3 files that can be played on any device (including iPods). Even better, the downloaded music file is yours to keep with no due... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
For students and adults alike, the New World Encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 full-text articles covering an array of topics. The database contains images, brief biographies and information in a variety of subject areas. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
G
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
H
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
I
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
K
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
L
LitFinder provides the opportunity to study great literary works by offering access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, and plays. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
M
Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Look under 'Database Features' at site for over 500 detailed, colorful maps that are available as an online reference almanac. The maps include each of the 50 United States and the provinces and territories of Canada, as well as regions and nations of the world including Europe, Persian Gulf, Czech... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
English Language Dictionary learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Freegal Music Service include millions of songs from ten thousand labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. The Freegal Music Service files are DRM-FREE, Mp3 files that can be played on any device (including iPods). Even better, the downloaded music file is yours to keep with no due... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
N
For students and adults alike, the New World Encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 full-text articles covering an array of topics. The database contains images, brief biographies and information in a variety of subject areas. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
O
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This source draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
P
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
R
Readthebooks.com covers K-8 grades. It contains reading lists for the Birmingham-area schools. You can find books to read by topic or reading level. The majority of the books are Acclerated Reader (AR) books. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
S
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
School topics and current events from articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents. Research ideas, activities, biographies, photo essays, country facts, almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, and current events. Middle and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Something About the Author Online brings you comprehensive online access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. You'll find thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides middle and high school students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining information tailored for their specific needs. Users can pre-select which types of content sources to search, narrow their results by topic heading and Lexile reading level, and make... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
T
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
V
Learn words and build vocabulary with VerbaLearn. VerbaLearn is a vocabulary building and practice site for test preparation, general learning and ESL. Specific test preparation includes: GRE, SAT, and ACT exams. You must create an account with VerbaLearn to use the site. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
W
This powerful yet easy-to-use online tool lets students analyze countries at a glance. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM