Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Databases
Looking for a particular magazine? Try electronic journals :      
Database Quick Links:  
Databases by Audience:   Elementary  |  Middle School  |  High School  |  Adults
Do you need help?

Check out the Database FAQ or use our Ask-A-Librarian service.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted.

A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Are You a BPL Resident?
Type in your library barcode number to check whether the library system recognizes you as a Birmingham resident.
Other Resources

E-Journals - Browse or search for full-text electronic journals and magazines available to BPL patrons.

Find books, journals, databases, websites and more in BPL's Subject Guides.

Databases By Audience: High School
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S   T   U   V   W  
A
A database geared toward the academic researcher, Academic Search Premier contains full text and images from over 4,700 journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, theology, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
African-American History Online covers topics such as affirmative action, Africa, black nationalism, civil rights, emancipation, free blacks, the Harlem Renaissance, migrations, racial violence and hate crimes, religion, slave living conditions, slave liberation strategies, social work and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The current Birmingham News delivered by al.com learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Coal Mine Fatalities Database consists of 2188 records compiled by the staff of the Government Documents department using available annual reports of Alabama mine inspectors from 1898 through 1938. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Episcopal Church Registers database lists confirmations, baptisms, marriages and burials for more than 14,000 people in sixteen Alabama parishes for the period of the 1830s to the 1970s learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database includes inventors who lived in Alabama at the time they received their patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The Government Documents Department of the Birmingham Public Library has compiled these records and will add to and update them as information... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
AlabamaMosaic (Alabama's Digitization Project) is a work in progress. A number of collections are available for browsing and searching. More collections will be added in the near future. The purpose of AlabamaMosaic is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums,... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Provides in-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine, offering full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, reports, newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The American Physical Society is now providing in-library access free of charge to all of their technical journals, including: Physical Review Letters (PRL) (brief important papers, all topics in physics) Physical Review A (atomic, molecular, and optical physics) Physical Review B (condensed... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
Full Text Available.
Family name information, genealogy, histories, census data, military records, passenger lists, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Ancestry Library Edition is subject to ongoing updates and new content is added frequently. Ancestry Library Edition is only available from computers inside... learn more
Birmingham Public Library - In Library Use Only.
With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture. The AAT contains generic terms; it contains no iconographic subjects and no... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
A project of the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at The Newberry Library in Chicago, the Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool in electronic form. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
B
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn words and phrases in several languages. Site includes facts about the languages and the societies that speak them. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities. And, just... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This US Congressional resource provides a searchable database of all members of Congress from 1774 to present. The Biographical Directory of the United States Congress includes the position, party, year, and state of each member of congress. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Barons, one of the most successful baseball teams in the Negro Leagues, played from the 1920s until the 1950s. The team played their home games at Rickwood Field. This database is a keyword index to articles that appeared in local newspapers including the Birmingham News... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The current Birmingham News delivered by al.com learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Full text articles from The Birmingham News (4/27/1993-Current) . learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The photograph collection depicts some of Birmingham’s prominent historic landmarks, pop culture palaces, businesses, churches, government buildings, gathering spaces, and people. While some of these structures have survived to the present, others are only memories. These photos form a composite... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Contains information from thousands of nonfiction books for grades K-12. The database includes full text entries on social studies and science, careers, health, sports, history, and technology. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, histories, chronologies. Detailed news and information on companies and industry. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Management issues, economic indicators, business theories and practices, activities of companies and industries worldwide. Full-text articles, images, and citations from academic journals and trade magazines. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, histories, chronologies. Detailed news and information on companies and industry. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A database of resources for the modern businessman, Business Source Premier contains full-text articles from more than 1,000 newspapers and magazines on business topics, management, economics, finance, banking, and accounting. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
C
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,050 of today's most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. This database now contains hundreds of new, in-depth job and industry descriptions; as well as a... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Explore career interests, plan for college or the workforce, or test your knowledge via interactive quizzes, standardized test questions, GED sample tests, and more with Career Library from EBSCO. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
CareerCruising features career guidance information, schools database, financial aid information, portofolio tool, employment resources and other assessments. This resource is applicable to middle school students exploring future career options as well as potential college students and job seekers.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. There are currently 664 historical newspapers available to browse and view in this site and over 140,000 newspapers listed in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn Web and computer programming fundamentals and languages through a series of training tracks. Topics include web fundamentals, PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python and Ruby. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The U.S. Serial Set, an ongoing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
D
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Directory of Open Access Books is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books with an Open Access license (free to download and share) and meet academic standards. The directory contains works from 33 publishers and is growing. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
E
Explore career interests, plan for college or the workforce, or test your knowledge via interactive quizzes, standardized test questions, GED sample tests, and more with Career Library from EBSCO. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Browse and search for journal and magazine titles that are available in the BPL collection of electronic databases. Use this tool to identify which database has the desired magazine and the coverage dates that are included in the database. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Largest French-Language Encyclopedic Resource Online. The entire Encyclopaedia Universalis is available online. A powerful and intelligent search engine provides access to more than 38,000 articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
With over 155,000 articles from the complete Britannica International Encyclopedia and 8,500 images, illustrations and maps, this database is a comprehensive reference source for both students and researchers. The database maintains its currency with articles from the Britannica International... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Includes more than 112,000 articles from the Korean version of Encyclopædia Britannica, the Korean Britannica Book of the Year, Yonsei University's Korean Dictionary, and a world atlas. This content is brought to life by more than 24,000 photos, graphic, animations, videos, and audio clips all... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed through a partnership of the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The complete text of EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals available in a searchable database, including general informational articles, taxonomic classifications, and photographs of thousands of animal species. Available through Kid's Search. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on earth - text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more - all freely available on-line. But EOL is much more than 1.9 million taxon pages. Explore EOL to find information for a paper, poster or class project, make... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Largest French-Language Encyclopedic Resource Online. The entire Encyclopaedia Universalis is available online. A powerful and intelligent search engine provides access to more than 38,000 articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford English Dictionary Online provides unparalleled access to the wealth of material contained in the acclaimed 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions. Online publication also enables the "treasure house" of the English language to move with... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database contains full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic and minority press. The database consists of items from 280+ sources, including local and regional press like: Deep South Jewish Voice: Birmingham, AL; Speakin' Out the News: Huntsville, AL; Atlanta... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
F
Search for your ancestors in free family history, family tree, and genealogy records and resources from around the world. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,050 of today's most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. This database now contains hundreds of new, in-depth job and industry descriptions; as well as a... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Primarily access to worldcat. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Freegal Music Service include millions of songs from ten thousand labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. The Freegal Music Service files are DRM-FREE, Mp3 files that can be played on any device (including iPods). Even better, the downloaded music file is yours to keep with no due... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
For students and adults alike, the New World Encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 full-text articles covering an array of topics. The database contains images, brief biographies and information in a variety of subject areas. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
G
Biographical information on more than a million notable historical and contemporary individuals. Facts, summaries, articles, and pictures. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of eBook reference content in a database format, allowing libraries to choose exactly which titles to make available to their patrons. The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
H
Current reference material, full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from authoritative medical sources. Descriptions and links to Web sites. Medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, directory of health organizations, and guides to prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, and alternative... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. There are currently 664 historical newspapers available to browse and view in this site and over 140,000 newspapers listed in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Features the full text of more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, as well as nearly 60 leading history periodicals; historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and hours of historical film and video. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
I
Spanish magazine articles. Searchable in Spanish. Some articles in English. Current events, business, health, technology, culture, etc. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Millions of full-text magazine articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc. Images. Updated daily. Find articles by topic, relevance,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
J
With over 155,000 articles from the complete Britannica International Encyclopedia and 8,500 images, illustrations and maps, this database is a comprehensive reference source for both students and researchers. The database maintains its currency with articles from the Britannica International... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
K
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Includes more than 112,000 articles from the Korean version of Encyclopædia Britannica, the Korean Britannica Book of the Year, Yonsei University's Korean Dictionary, and a world atlas. This content is brought to life by more than 24,000 photos, graphic, animations, videos, and audio clips all... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
L
Skill-building and test preparation materials for standardized tests. Interactive practice exams based on official exams. Scoring and analysis of practice test responses. Basic skills, college preparatory, civil service, GED, and some specific careers. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
The U.S. Serial Set, an ongoing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of more than 120,000 literary figures from all time periods in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, etc. Full-text, excerpted, and commissioned essays. Explanations and overviews of prominent literary works. Links to about 5,000... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
LitFinder provides the opportunity to study great literary works by offering access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, and plays. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
M
Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Look under 'Database Features' at site for over 500 detailed, colorful maps that are available as an online reference almanac. The maps include each of the 50 United States and the provinces and territories of Canada, as well as regions and nations of the world including Europe, Persian Gulf, Czech... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Mergent Online is an Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
English Language Dictionary learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Freegal Music Service include millions of songs from ten thousand labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. The Freegal Music Service files are DRM-FREE, Mp3 files that can be played on any device (including iPods). Even better, the downloaded music file is yours to keep with no due... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
N
For students and adults alike, the New World Encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 full-text articles covering an array of topics. The database contains images, brief biographies and information in a variety of subject areas. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Full text articles from The Birmingham News (4/27/1993-Current) . learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The database provides full text to 35 national & international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The (London) Times. As well, the database contains selected full text for more than 375 regional U.S. newspapers (including local press The... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
O
Primarily access to worldcat. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This source draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford English Dictionary Online provides unparalleled access to the wealth of material contained in the acclaimed 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions. Online publication also enables the "treasure house" of the English language to move with... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
P
A digital library consisting of Greek and Roman Materials, Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser, Arabic Materials, Germanic Materials, and 19th-Century American, Renaissance Materials. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The photograph collection depicts some of Birmingham’s prominent historic landmarks, pop culture palaces, businesses, churches, government buildings, gathering spaces, and people. While some of these structures have survived to the present, others are only memories. These photos form a composite... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A search engine featuring cross-searching capabilities of Gale Cengage content. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States compiled from both government and non-government sources. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites (from site). learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
R
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
S
Digital versions of large-scale maps of Alabama towns and cities. Fire insurance maps with data on structures in use at the time the map was made. Includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heighheights, and function of structures,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Encyclopedia of subjects in science and technology, biographical information on people in the sciences, science news articles, and dictionary of scientific and technical terms. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Scribner Writers Online includes American Writers Collection, British Writers Collection, European Writers Collection and World and Genre Writers Collection learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Something About the Author Online brings you comprehensive online access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. You'll find thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States compiled from both government and non-government sources. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text). Information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. High school. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database provides middle and high school students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining information tailored for their specific needs. Users can pre-select which types of content sources to search, narrow their results by topic heading and Lexile reading level, and make... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
T
THOMAS, a service of the Library of Congress, provides information on the activities of the U.S. Congress. The scope of offerings THOMAS currently includes such features and content as: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record; Schedules, Calendars; Committee Information;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Tuition Funding Sources is a private website designed to help students find scholarships, college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
U
The U.S. Serial Set, an ongoing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, captures every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The ULAN includes proper names and associated information about artists.... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
V
Learn words and build vocabulary with VerbaLearn. VerbaLearn is a vocabulary building and practice site for test preparation, general learning and ESL. Specific test preparation includes: GRE, SAT, and ACT exams. You must create an account with VerbaLearn to use the site. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
For work-related information in a variety of fields, EBSCOhost Web's special vocational and career collection contains articles in over 360 trade and industry related periodicals. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
W
Access digital images in PDF of the original pages of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Montgomery Advertiser. No search interface is provided. The digital images are accessed by choosing the appropriate publication, year, month, day and page. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This powerful yet easy-to-use online tool lets students analyze countries at a glance. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 3/19/2014 3:57 PM